TECHNICAL SUPPORT

Which type of tray is best?

The choice of tray is made in the light of the variety of young plants, and also depending on the desired density. We have many different types of propagation trays, some of them multi-purpose, while others are more specific. We design our seedling trays to meet the plants' agronomical needs: optimisation of germination, and enhanced plant development after transplanting. The cell shape and peat volume are key criteria for obtaining optimum root development and avoiding root circling, etc.

Don't hesitate to contact us for more detailed advice or to set up a test system. It is to be noted that the choice of tray often depends on your market, the climate, the cultivation method (organic or conventional), and also on your facilities.

Young plants for market gardeners
Engrafted young plants (grown from seed) Cabbage Euro 150, Euro 216
Cabbage for industrial use Euro 240H, Euro 285, Euro 300, X315,
Euro 150
Fruit tomato Euro 150, Euro 216,
Euro 240H
Tomato for industrial use Euro 240H, Euro 384,
Euro 504, Euro 600
Lettuce Euro 150, Euro 216, Euro 240H, EuroBox
Celery Euro 285, Euro 384, X315,
Euro 216, Euro 240H, Euro 300
Leek Euro 384, Euro 285, Euro 300, Euro 504,
Euro 240H
Onion Euro 384, Euro 285, Euro 300, Euro 504,
Euro 150, Euro 240H
Courgette (zucchini) Euro 96
Aromatic plants Euro 240B, Euro 240H,
Euro 150, Euro 96
Grafted young plants Tomato Euro 60 (Rootstock), Euro 150 (Grafts), EuroBox,
Sweet pepper Euro 60 (Rootstock), Euro 150 (Grafts)
Cucumber Euro 60 (Rootstock), Euro 150 (Grafts), EuroBox
Aubergine (eggplant) Euro 60 (Rootstock), Euro 150 (Grafts)
Melon Euro 40 (Rootstock), Euro 96 (Grafts), Euro 60
Courgette (zucchini) Euro 96
Organic young plants Fruit vegetables (tomato, cucumber, aubergine, pumpkin, winter squash, courgette, sweet pepper, hot pepper, etc.) Euro 60, Euro 40, Euro 150, Euro 96
Leaf vegetables (cabbages, Brussels sprouts, lettuces, etc.) Euro 216, Euro 150, Euro 96
Flower vegetables (artichokes, cauliflowers, broccoli, etc.) Euro 216,
Euro 150, Euro 240H
Horticultural young plants
Ornamental plants Grown from seedlings Danois 264, Danois 288, Danois 360, Danois 480,
Euro 240B, Euro 600
Grown from cuttings Danois 84, Danois 128,
Euro 96
Perennial plants Geranium Danois 128, Danois 84,
Euro 240B (1/2)
Cut flowers Root balls with paper (paper plugs) / Corks Danois 84, Danois 128
Bonded root balls / Compressed potting soil Danois 84, Danois 128,
Euro 384, Euro 240B
Young strawberry plants
Strawberries Tray-plant Fraises 9,
Fraises 16
Eco-plant (mini tray-plant) Fraises 16
Young plants with root balls Fraises 75
Young forest plants and shrubs
Conifers Pine (micro-germination) Danois 480, Euro 600
Maritime pine Euro 40
Fruit trees Vine stocks Danois 32

What will it be used for?

The vast majority of the trays in Euro format (60 x 40 cm) are used to grow young vegetable plants, whereas trays in Danish format (54 x 30 cm) are generally used in the horticultural industry (flowers). This is mainly due to production and logistics constraints linked to each of these fields. Thus Euro trays are better suited to the market gardening sector, because they are more suitable for seedling and transplantation machines, and also for logistics on pallets (Euro). Trays with legs, known as horticultural trays, are ideally suited to growing young ornamental plants, or transplanting in pots, and also to delivery on Danish roller racks. Their legs also give the young plants plenty of air, avoiding runner roots.

How are deliveries managed?

SPID gives priority to long-term solutions rather than throwaway solutions, ecology rather than waste, and reusability rather than disposable resources. Seedling trays constitute a production tool for young plants that is fully suitable and efficient. Nonetheless, efficient, cost-effective logistics solutions are necessary to deliver young plants, in order to comply with the following cycle: production, delivery, cleaning, production... And that's why SPID offers crates, Tray Transporters and growing media. Logistics on growing media or Tray Transporters, or in crates, is recommended for all deliveries, except over long distances, which can be dealt with using inserts.

The long service life of our products is a strength, as compared with thermoformed or polystyrene trays, because the cost savings (after X production cycles) enable you to amortise your production tool quickly and develop your activity.

Why should I opt for SPID?

SPID trays are made up mainly of virgin polypropylene, anti-UV products, and colourant. The quality of the materials selected ensures that SPID products have a very long service life (more than 15 years). Furthermore, when designing its trays, SPID takes into account agronomical constraints (root development), mechanical constraints (seedlings, transplantation, loads, etc.), and also logistical constraints (standards, cleaning, etc.). To sum things up, SPID trays are:

SUPPORT TECHNIQUE

Quelle plaque choisir ?

Le choix de la plaque se fait selon la variété de plants, mais aussi en fonction de la densité voulue. Nous disposons de nombreuses plaques de multiplication, dont certaines sont polyvalentes, et d'autres plus spécifiques. Nous concevons nos plateaux de semis, pour répondre aux besoins agronomiques de la plante : optimisation de la germination, et meilleure reprise du plant lors du repiquage. La forme de l'alvéole et le volume de tourbe sont des critères importants pour obtenir un développement racinaire optimum, et éviter le chignonage...

N'hésitez pas à nous consulter pour un conseil plus approfondi ou une mise en place d'un essai. A noter, que le choix de la plaque dépend souvent de votre marché, du climat, de la méthode de culture (en bio ou conventionnel), mais aussi de vos installations.

Les plants maraichers
Plants francs (issus de graines) Chou précoce Idéal: Euro 150, Euro 216
Convient:
Chou industrie Idéal: Euro 240H, Euro 285, Euro 300, X315
Convient: Euro 150
Tomate fruit Idéal: Euro 150, Euro 216
Convient: Euro 240H
Tomate industrie Idéal: Euro 240H, Euro 384
Convient: Euro 504, Euro 600
Salade Idéal: Euro 150, Euro 216, Euro 240H, EuroBox
Convient:
Céleri Idéal: Euro 285, Euro 384, X315
Convient: Euro 216, Euro 240H, Euro 300
Poireau Idéal: Euro 384, Euro 285, Euro 300, Euro 504
Convient: Euro 240H
Oignon Idéal: Euro 384, Euro 285, Euro 300, Euro 504
Convient: Euro 150, Euro 240H
Courgette Idéal: Euro 96
Convient:
Plantes aromatiques Idéal: Euro 240B, Euro 240H
Convient: Euro 150, Euro 96
Plants greffés Tomate Idéal: Euro 60 (porte greffe), Euro 150 (greffons), EuroBox
Convient:
Poivron Idéal: Euro 60 (porte greffe), Euro 150 (greffons)
Convient:
Concombre Idéal: Euro 60 (porte greffe), Euro 150 (greffons), EuroBox
Convient:
Aubergine Idéal: Euro 60 (porte greffe), Euro 150 (greffons)
Convient:
Melon Idéal: Euro 40 (porte greffe), Euro 96 (greffons)
Convient: Euro 60
Courgette Idéal: Euro 96
Convient:
Plants bio Légumes fruits (tomate, concombre, aubergine, citrouille, potiron, courgette, poivron, piment...) Idéal: Euro 60, Euro 40, Euro 150, Euro 96
Convient:
Légumes feuilles (choux, choux de bruxelles, salades...) Idéal: Euro 216, Euro 150, Euro 96
Convient:
Légumes fleurs (artichauts, les choux-fleurs, brocolis...) Idéal: Euro 216
Convient: Euro 150, Euro 240H
Les plants horticoles
Plantes ornementales Issues de semis Idéal: Danois 264, Danois 288, Danois 360, Danois 480
Convient: Euro 240B, Euro 600
Issues de bouturage Idéal: Danois 84, Danois 128
Convient: Euro 96
Plantes vivaces Geranium Idéal: Danois 128, Danois 84
Convient: Euro 240B (1/2)
Fleurs coupées Mottes papiers / Bouchons Idéal: Danois 84, Danois 128
Convient:
Mottes collées / Terreau compressé Idéal: Danois 84, Danois 128
Convient: Euro 384, Euro 240B
Les plants fraisiers
Fraises Tray-plant Idéal: Fraises 9
Convient: Fraises 16
Eco-plant (mini tray-plant) Idéal: Fraises 16
Convient:
Plants mottes Idéal: Fraises 75
Convient:
Les plants forestiers et arbustes
Conifères Pin (micro-germination) Idéal: Danois 480, Euro 600
Convient:
Pin maritime Idéal: Euro 40
Convient:
Arbres fruitiers Pied de vignes Idéal: Danois 32
Convient:

Pour quel usage ?

La grande majorité des plaques de semis au format Euro (60x40cm) est destinée à la culture de jeunes plants de légumes, alors que les plaques au format Danois (54x30cm) sont généralement utilisées dans l'industrie horticole (fleurs). Ceci s'explique surtout par les contraintes de production et de logistique liées à chacun des domaines. Ainsi, les plaques Euro conviennent au milieu maraicher, par le fait qu'elles sont plus adaptées aux machines de semis et de repiquage, mais aussi à une logistique sur palette (Euro). Les plaques à pieds dites horticoles conviennent particulièrement à la culture des jeunes plants ornementaux, au repiquage en pots, mais aussi aux livraisons sur rolls Danois. Leurs pieds permettent en outre une bonne aération du plant évitant aux racines de courir.

Comment gérer les livraisons ?

SPID privilégie les solutions durables aux solutions jetables, l'écologie au gaspillage, la réusabilité à l'usage unique. Les plaques de semis représentent un outil de production de jeunes plants tout à fait adapté et efficace. Toutefois, des solutions logistiques performantes et économiques sont nécessaires pour livrer les plants, afin de respecter le cycle suivant: production, livraison, lavage, production... Et c'est pourquoi SPID propose des caisses, Tray Transporter et supports de culture. Une logistique sur support de cultures, Tray Transporter, ou en caisse, est à recommander pour l'ensemble des livraisons, exceptées celles très lointaines pouvant être gérées en insert.

La durabilité de nos produits est un atout, par rapport aux plaques thermoformées ou en polystyrène, car l'économie réalisée (au bout de X cycles de production), vous permet d'amortir votre outil de production rapidement et de développer votre activité.

Pourquoi choisir SPID ?

Les plaques SPID sont principalement composées de polypropylène vierge, d'anti-UV, et de colorant. La qualité des matières choisies confère aux produits SPID une très bonne longévité (plus de 15 ans). Par ailleurs, SPID conçoit ses plaques, en tenant compte des contraintes agronomiques (développement racinaire), mécanique (semis, repiquage, charges...), mais aussi logistique (standard, lavage...). En résumé, les plaques SPID sont: